16 comments on “Why is the book on the table?

  1. interesting blog here! I’m calming my
    nerves as I will be meeting my future in laws in September. I’ll need all the help I can get! My fiancee keeps telling me not to worry but I’m already a nervous wreck. She’s Brazilian and I’m Singaporean, doesn’t get anymore culturally diverse. well at least for me. keep up the posts!

    cheers!

    • Hey Johnathan, thanks for reading. I appreciate your comments!

      Don’t worry about your in-laws. I felt exactly the same, especially with the language barrier, but it went fine and I’m now actually living with them! The great thing about Brazilians is that family is very important and it sounds like your fiancee’s family are no different. If your wife says it’ll be ok, then I’ve no doubt it will.

      Relax and remember, enjoy Brazil!

      • Thanks m8,

        I’ll write a contribution when I’m done with my trip. Then more others in our position might be wiser.

        Cheers!

  2. You may have seen the TV advert, and frankly you surely can’t have missed it, Some English school or lessons, ‘ the books on the table table table’, ‘I speake new yorke’, it drive me insane, lol. I just can’t get it out of my head. Now I will think of this Blog. I’m a fellow Brit living near Rio in Saquarema. Good blog, thx.

      • Hi Ari!This post took my breath away! She is a shniing example of advanced style, and such an inspiration. Just what I needed!Thank you so much for sharing with us. Best, J.

  3. This blog is soooo nice. As a Brazilian citizen who loves Brazil, but currently live abroad, I should say that the great thing about Brazil is that people really make the move so foreigners feel at home. You’re totally right. Congrats for your keen perception 🙂

      • I guess when we live abroad, we become more competent in facing the cultural differences. When we’re the ones out of our nests, we make the efforts to understand the new world and we’re more willing to put ourselves in someone else’s shoes.
        Regarding my behaviour, I still have a lot to improve, e.g., I still hug people who don’t want to be hugged lol. But I guess I’m on my way 🙂
        Are you fluent in Portuguese now?

      • Not fluent, but I’m ok. One-to-one is fine but group situations in busy places…forget it!

        Where do you live and how long have been away from Brazil?

      • I think Portuguese is a hard language to learn from scratch. I guess it’s easier to learn when you know one of the romance languages. On the one hand, it helps you have an idea of the general structure. On the other hand, it can make you more confused haha. I remember I learned Spanish very quickly, but I had a hard time learning French. It all depends.
        I’m in Canada it’s been one year and a half.

      • Cool, Canada is on a long list of places I’d like to go to!

        Portuguese is very hard and, unfortunately, us English speakers are very bad (and lazy) at learning languages. I’ve enjoyed the challenge though!

      • Most of my English-speaker friends just speak English. I guess it’s because theoretically you can go anywhere in the world speaking English. This language is widely spoken, so it’s easier to communicate when you really don’t know the local language. At least, in Brazil, we generally learn English to get better jobs. I started studying as a child because learning languages was always a passion, but as an adult I realized it’s important to help me better understand different cultures and to connect with more people. This is priceless!

Leave a Reply

