5 comments on “Lesson No. 5: The path to success in São Paulo…

  1. LOL I love your blog. it makes me laugh so hard every time. And yes, it is a nation-wide problem, this “Watering the Pavement.” I live in Rondonia, where we suffer severe droughts during the dry season and almost every year suffer actual lack of water, and people INSIST on the washing of the pavement. EVERY DAY. I never wash our pavement, I just use a broom and when our maid is here I have instructed her to MOP the patio (errr… push the rag around) instead of just throwing water all over the place), but I see our neighbors, every day, out there with SOAP washing their sidewalk. That’s what makes me laugh (and worry) even more! It’s all going into the ground water and it’s using up so much of a valuable resource… One that everyone says every day is at risk. “OOoh, when we arrived in Rondonia 30 years ago, it rained for 6 months straight, every day… now, we’re lucky if we get 2 months of rain!”

    Also, I love your observation of the government’s recommendations in SP for the sidewalks. I am sure no one has even looked at that page especially since no one follows the recommendations! My grandmother’s biggest complaint about SP when she came to visit me was the sidewalks. “EVERYONE BUILDS THEIR OWN! There is no LOGIC!” and yes, it’s true.

    • It just seems so odd especially, as I said in the post, given the context in which it occurs here in SP. My wife said that apparently there was a campaign to make people aware about wasting water, etc. Not sure it had much effect though!

      Shame to hear it’s not just an SP phenomenon too. I wonder how it started?

  2. As explained above it’s plain and simple lazynes/ignorance. Hose the pavement, instead of using a broom. It also helps to know that hosing the pavement requires even less thinking than the grass, therefore, if you live here and have ever tried to engage with the person holding the hose, you’ll get it. Mistery solved.

  3. Great snap of the fucked up pavements. This private ownership of pavements is a microcosm of the chaos of Brazil. What seems like common sense is complicated beyond belief. You never see families going for walks with buggies. There’s just no point. And trees in the middle of the pavement is also a bugbear of mine.

    • It’s strange how something as banal as pavements can become such a frustrating aspect of everyday life! A business round the corner dug up their pavement but clearly went bust as it’s remained a pile of rubble for a month or so now. No-one seems to care and I’m assuming nothing will be done about it either.

Leave a Reply

