9 comments on “A beginner’s guide to cricket in in São Paulo. Yes, that’s right, cricket…

  1. There a few examples of the english money influence in Manaus, where I live.
    An english company designed and built the Manaus Harbor http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_HOQ_ojhtSLM/SZWgo0U2LZI/AAAAAAAABa8/EYSpsaIHxmI/s400/portodemanausaerea.jpg and the Mercado Municipal https://encrypted-tbn3.google.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTq0kFfUdCuj_dCGXFq2lCBVXkeZWVnfXONBi6iPBhlPpDX8JjLeg
    Unfortunately, the english ended up with a bad name here, since a man named Henry Wickman came to Brazil as a professor and “stole” 70k seeds of rubber tree (Hevea brasiliensis) and took it to Malaysia bankrupting the prosper rubber business in the Amazon.
    Anyway, just to be on topic, I’ve never seen a cricket game live or on TV.

    • I’ve not heard of that chap but that sounds about right!

      As for watching cricket, I doubt you’ll see a game on TV here in Brazil any time soon. However, if you’re ever in a country in which it’s played I’d recommend it as a day-out – even if you’re not sure what is going on. Basically, it’s an excuse to sit in the sun and drink all-day (unless you’re in the UK where it might well rain a bit too).

      • You never know. Rugby is now shown kind of regularly on ESPN, though, again, I’ve never took the time to watch it.

  2. Wait a minute, isn’t cricket just a posh and very lengthy version of the Brazilian game for children called “taco”? 🙂

    I always like to make that comment to Brits (not your case, Andy) who insist that basketball is just like netball and that baseball should be played by girls because it’s essentially rounders. Sadly, none if those Brits know what taco is so the impact is lost in translation…

    • Ah yes, my wife told me about taco. Think I might give it a try, can’t do any worse than my batting figures since playing at SPAC!

  3. First American Football, now Cricket. I’m slowly realizing I’m missing very little living in SP. The list gets shorter every day. Once I find a store with organic almond butter and they open a Chipotle, I’m set. Another great post, Andy.

    • Cheers Juan, São Paulo never ceases to amaze me either. I knew about Charles Miller before but after I started reading more about him I couldn’t believe the extent of the British involvement or legacy there.

      And finding cricket was still played then even getting the chance to play myself. Very cool!

  4. Pingback: The quirks and challenges of being a foreigner in Brazil. | The Book Is On The Table

Leave a Reply

