7 comments on “Eisenbahn

  1. A good one! Probably one of the best big brazilian breweries (for a European taste). Also the most expensive “chopp” I have seen since moving to Brasil: at Guarulhos airport (in the international terminal), it costs something like R$ 16 the pint (curiously enough, -ehem!- the same price as Devassa there)…
    I reckon that “Original Antartica” is nice also (although people here seem to appreciate more Skol and Brahma). There are also surprisingly (I thought first that all the beers were pretty light here) lots of microbreweries that do a nice work: did you try “DaDoBier” already, for example?

    • Wow, that`s very expensive indeed, although that`s probably more to do with the fact that it was at an airport. Bars are always far more expensive there!

      When I’m in a boteco my choice is always either Original or Serramalte. I try to avoid Skol, Brahma, etc where possible but they still do the job if needs be!

      Yes, I tried the DaDoBier as part of the Christmas beer tasting I did with my in-laws here. We have a supermarket which sells loads of imported / Brazilian microbrews, so I bought a load and we ranked them all (DaDoBier, Colorado, Coruja, etc). That’s where the idea of this feature came from. Got anymore recommendations?

      I’m going to the Baden Baden factory in March for my birthday. Really looking forward to it!

  2. You beat me:-) Lucky you for the visit in Campos de Jordão! Enjoy! They should sponsor your review with some boxes of good beers;-)
    I imagined that Guarulhos was less expensive than London City Airport…
    Caracu? (but does not reach Guinness)

    • Now that would be the perfect job wouldn’t it? Paid beer taster!

      Yeah, any London airport is pretty expensive but there’s always one which is 24 hours, so you can’t argue too much really 😉

  3. Interestingly Eisenbahn and Baden Baden (and Devassa) are owned by the same company. I’ve been in Brazil for two years now and I’ve noticed a big increase in the microbrew market however it still only accounts for about 1% of the total market share.

    Baden Baden is seriously good beer, easily the best in Brazil in my opinion. The Weiss, Red Ale and Stout are all superb. I would love to try one of there special edition beers. Eisenbahn is also fantastic with it`s huge range of beers for quite a reasonable price.

    Shout out to Devassa for bringing something other than god damn Pilsen to the masses! Antartica is definitely my favourite of all the yellow beers.

    • Devassa is not bad actually and pretty cheap, so a good alternative to people who want to try something different but cannot afford the more expensive beers like Colorado, etc. The Pale Ale (Red Label) is fairly drinkable.

  4. I do agree with all of the ideas you’ve presented to
    your post. They are really convincing and will definitely work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are very brief for beginners.
    May you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

