17 comments on “Brazilian Beer: The coldest drink known to mankind.

  1. Colorado Indica IPA. You can find it at most big supermarkets. The brewery is located in Ribeirão Preto, some 5h away from São Paulo. But trust me, it’s good. You can also find A LOT of Brazilians micros and imports for reasonable prices at this place: http://www.altodospinheiros.com.br/

    • +1 for Colorado IPA (and their other beers in fact). Nova Lima, just outside Belo Horizonte, is increasingly becoming Minas Gerais’ centre of micro (and not so micro) brewing. See if you can find Backer beers in SP.

      • You know I find the Brazilian IPAs a little weird. You have the Eisenbahn one which is pretty bland and then the Colorado one which is really distinctive, and then nothing in-between! It’s good, though not sure how many I could drink in one session…

  2. Schincariol was the pride and joy from Itu, a city on São Paulo’s countryside. But their beer always sucked. Now that the Japanese bought they, the beer still… sucks anyway, It’s like Ben Affleck’s acting: it may full some people, it may seems as it improved under new direction,but it will always sucks. As for the others, i think you got it right: they favour freshness and coldness over flavor on our beers. With another reason besides the wheater: it’s cheaper to produce beers with less production values, as it raises the profits margin. You make a half-assed beer, and you sell like it’s the oasis in the middle of our Tropical nightmare. Skol is the best seller because it has the reputation of being the better one among the cheap ones, better here meaning “less capable of making you throwing up”. Brahma it’s a big “meh!”, Kaiser i’ts awful, and Antarctica it’s more like water with some ethanol. Conclusion: our beers, as a whole, suck. But our chopps are very good!

  3. Colorada Indica is great but I think that Colorado Demoiselle is even better (a coffee porter). There are several quite good beer brands in Brazil, and some nice places to try them in São Paulo. Baden Baden has some good stuff and you can also find their beers in the grocery store. There also some really good places to try beer in São Paulo. While there we went to Bar Asterix several times and tried quite a few of their 50+ domestic beers (http://www.barasterix.com.br/cervejas.htm).

    • The Indica is the only one I’ve tried of the Colorado lot and I’m not a huge stout / porter fan, but I’m sure I’ll get round to it at some point.

      I’m actually going to Campos do Jordão next weekend and I’ve already booked a trip to to the Baden Baden cervejeria! 😉

      I’ve not heard of that bar before, but the fact it stocks so many nationals beers is a good sign. I went to one near that way that only did imported beers and it was just too expensive. R$27 on average for a 600ml bottle!

  4. I have just foid your really interesting website.

    I have just been talking to my Braziian business partner who, with others is in the process of opening a Portuguese style restaurant in Itumbiara in the South Goias. They would like to serve chope beer but it seems difficult to source there. I was wondering about the possibiity of them brewing their own draught beer perhaps on site. I wonder if anyone has an opinion about doing this.

    • I imagine they should be able to get a Brahma chope machine fairly easily no? Would seem strange if they couldn’t.

      Brewing would be better though as the beer will be much nicer! Would take a fair bit of investment though so I guess depends upon the path they want to go down business-wise.

  5. I am a Brazilian living in Canada. My mother is American. To me American beer for the most part is watered down. As for Brazilian beer, I have tasted a lot of different beers from around the world & I find it a great tasting beer. I will choose it consistently over the new artisanal beer that is appearing throughout much of Brazil that is referred to in this poorly written & researched article. If you are a yuppie with more money then common sense then go ahead & listen to this drivel. I do not know if Europeans like their beer warm like their Mother’s breast milk, but beer is meant to be served cold & refreshing. I live in Canada where it can at times be extremely cold & I still drink my beer nice & cold. I can not and will never enjoy room temperature beer. Also referred to irreverently as piss warm beer. Do you know who owns the largest beer company in the world? It is a Brazilian & Belgian company. Cheers.

  6. Ahhh, at last a subject we can all enjoy 🙂 I personally am not a fan of Brazilian big brand beer. Antartica, Skol, Bohemia,Kaizer etc tastes like sour piss (excuse my language). Perhaps that is the reason they chill it to the point of freezing ones taste buds, making them numb, so one can not feel any taste at all. Microbreweries are great but beyond my wallet. I think there is only 1 Brazilian beer that is great in all respects – taste+price – and that is Brahma Chopp. CHEERS !

  7. Andy,

    Have you been to Cervejaria Nacional, a micro-brewery-cum-bar at Av. Pedroro de Moraes, in the Pinheiros area. It serves a range of five ‘regular’ beers plus a couple more that are brewed and offered seasonally.

    And if you allow me a small correction: the ‘imported’ beers you mentioned (Heineken, Stella Artois, Budweiser) may have become known to Brazilians as imported brands a decade ago or so, but are currently produced in Brazil. Stella and Budweiser are brands owned by InBev; Heineken bought out FEMSA’s beer division a few years ago, and since then has started brewing its flagship beer locally.

    Abraço!

    Daniel Ávila

    • Yeah, I love Cervejaria Nacional – I’ve been there 4 or 5 times! I really need to get around to writing a post about it. Have you been to the new Karavelle Brewpub? It’s at Al. Lorena, 1784 and fairly new I think. I think Brewdog are opening one soon as well.

      What I mean about those beers is that, ok, they are made here, but they are not Brazilian origin. By imported I mean they originate for outside Brazil.

Leave a Reply

