18 comments on “The many São Paulos – Pluri São Paulo

  1. “Hard because it requires some time to uncloak; it requires a watchful eye, as one of those films you have to watch a few times and reflect upon in order to understand.”

    This is exactly my experience with São Paulo – on each subsequent ‘viewing’ I enjoy and appreciate it more. Nice post! 🙂

    • Thank you very much Tom Le Mesurier. SP is a unique and unappreciated city. Unfortunately not everybody “gets it”. I am glad you understand it!!

      • It did take me a while. First few times I went there I didn’t think very much of it – now I am really looking forward to my next visit! 🙂

  2. I’m pretty sure she did not have one with her 🙂 Besides, it can be used for lots of different things besides drinking. If you know an English expression which means someone has moved with all their belongings, as the expression suggests, please let me know. Very useful for me as a translator whose first language isn’t English. 🙂

    • Hee hee, sorry, just being silly! I’ve been trying to think of a decent equivalent and nothing quite right has come to mind. When you want to say that someone has packed a LOT, you say that they “brought everything but the kitchen sink” [British English], but that doesn’t quite fit here unfortunately.

      Another one which does mean that someone has moved with all their belongings is to say that they “packed up lock, stock and barrel”. Again, I’m not sure that’s quite what Lidi was meaning in her sentence. I’ll keep thinking 🙂

      • I had no idea an unpretentious word such as “cuia” would generate so many comments hahaha
        I was just trying to emphasize that I was carrying lots of stuff with me.
        It’s a very common expression in Portuguese.
        I researched a bit and found an expression in English that may have a similar meaning : bag and baggage. Does that make sense?

  3. Lovely! She knows how to evoke an array of feelings with a few well-chosen words.

  4. Hey @Lidi (and @Andy) thanks for the pleasant way to describe my “multi-faceted city”, there is something magic in SP, and personally, I think only some and special people can see this… Thanks for sharing the magic!

  5. Thank you Georgia! Andy and G. Campello did an amazing job at translating my post into English! They not only preserved my feelings but also described them really well!
    I really like the way you put it ” there is something magic in SP”. I agree with you 🙂

Leave a Reply

